Press Release Announcing Workforce Innovation Opportunities Act Advisory Committee: Karen McCulloh

Congratulations to Karen McCulloh, NOND Founder. Appointed to the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act (WIOA) Advisory Committee. Visit for more information.

News Release

ODEP News Release: [01/05/2015]
Contact Name: Laura McGinnis or Tania Mejia
Phone Number:
(202) 693-4653 or x4686
Email: or
Release Number: 14-2331-NAT

Disability employment advisory committee adds 17 public members

New members will help increase integrated employment opportunities

WASHINGTON — U.S. Secretary of Labor Thomas E. Perez today announced the 17 public members who will serve on the new Advisory Committee on Increasing Competitive Integrated Employment for Individuals with Disabilities, a key provision of the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act.

Signed by President Obama in July 2014, WIOA helps job seekers, including those with disabilities, access services to succeed in employment and matches employers with skilled workers. Reflecting this, the committee will advise the U.S. Secretary of Labor on ways to increase competitive integrated employment opportunities for individuals with significant disabilities. This includes recommendations on the use and oversight of the certificate program under section 14(c) of the Fair Labor Standards Act.

Integrated employment refers to jobs held by people with disabilities in workplace settings where the majority of employees do not have disabilities. In these jobs, individuals with disabilities earn wages consistent with those paid workers without disabilities performing the same or similar work, make at least minimum wage and are paid directly by their employer.

"It has been demonstrated, time and time again, that when people with disabilities have access to meaningful employment opportunities, they become some of the most productive workers and contribute in a substantial way to their workplaces and the economy. Employing people with disabilities is a win-win for workers, employers and the entire community," said Secretary Perez. "This is sound public policy, and the advisory committee will help us expand opportunities for more people with disabilities."

Selected from more than 280 nominations, the 17 members represent six groups, as described in the law:

Self-advocates for individuals with intellectual or developmental disabilities:

Patrick Hendry, Mental Health America
Karen McCulloh, McCulloh and Associates
Santa Perez, People First of Nevada

Providers of employment services, including those who employ individuals with intellectual or developmental disabilities in competitive integrated employment:

Brian Itzkowitz, Goodwill Industries of Arkansas Inc.
Christine McMahon, Fedcap

Representatives of national disability advocacy organizations for adults with intellectual or developmental disabilities:

Alison Barkoff, Bazelon Center
Ruby Moore, National Disability Rights Network
Mark Perriello, American Association of People with Disabilities

Experts with a background in academia or research and expertise in employment and wage policy issues for individuals with intellectual or developmental disabilities:

Valerie Brooke, Virginia Commonwealth University
David Mank, Indiana Institute on Disability and Community

Representatives from the employer community or national employer organizations:

Oswald Mondejar, Partners Continuing Care
Steve Pemberton, Walgreens

Other individuals or representatives of organizations with expertise on increasing opportunities for competitive integrated employment for individuals with disabilities:

Cesilee Coulson, Washington Initiative for Supported Employment
Sharyn Hancock, Workforce Essentials, Inc.
Rita Landgraf, Delaware State Department of Health and Social Services
Lisa Pugh, Disability Rights Wisconsin
Fredric Schroeder, Interwork Institute at San Diego State University

Seven federal officials will also serve on the committee:

Assistant Secretary of the Office of Disability Employment Policy at the U.S. Department of Labor;
Assistant Secretary of the Employment and Training Administration at the U.S. Department of Labor;
Administrator of the Wage and Hour Division at the U.S. Department of Labor;
Commissioner of the Administration on Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities, or the commissioner's designee;
Director of the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, or the director's designee;
Commissioner of Social Security, or the commissioner's designee; and
Commissioner of the Rehabilitation Services Administration, or the commissioner's designee.

The first meeting of the committee will take place Jan. 22 and 23, 2015 at the U.S. Access Board in Washington, D.C. More information about the committee, upcoming meetings and members can be found at